Unsure of what the NDIS is all about? Worry not, we can help. We give you a quick overview of the scheme and what it means for you.

Picture of elderly woman for social and community participation

What is the NDIS?

The National Disability Insurance Scheme is NDIS. It’s a new way for people having a disability under the age of 65 to get the care and supports required by them.

The NDIS is for people having a permanent and significant disability which affects their ability to participate in everyday activities.

If you are suitable, you will work out what reasonable and essential supports required by you to live your life and reach your goals. You’ll then get funding to pay for these supports.

Get more information on the NDIS website.

Why was the NDIS introduced?

Before the introduction of NDIS, disability services in Australia had been a lottery.

The funding you received was based on how, when and where you got your disability, as well as where you lived. Some people got sufficient funding; some people got none! It was all just a little unfair!

So, after they held an inquiry, the Federal Government agreed that people having a disability deserved a system that is fairer. And, more control!

And in July 2013, the NDIS was introduced.


What supports can you receive through the NDIS?

The NDIS gives funding for various different things!

It could be employment, early intervention, accommodation, doing activities, and much more.

You will get to decide for themselves when and where you receive these supports and which disability service providers you work with.

Check out All Supports NDIS disability services.


Who is eligible for the NDIS?

  • Eligibility for the NDIS is based on a few different things such as:
  • Location: You need to have been living in an area in which the scheme is already rolled out
  • Age: You need to be aged under 65 at the time of your application
  • Residency: it is important that you require to be an Australian citizen, permanent resident, or a New Zealand citizen who holds a Protected Special Category Visa
  • Disability: You must have a permanent disability that considerably impacts how you can communicate, move, care for yourself, or manage your life.
  • Early Intervention: You might be eligible if early intervention would significantly enhance your functioning, or delay or decrease a decline in functioning, for you or your child.

For a list of helpful resources in the NDIS – visit CFECFW